Heal the wound, but leave the scar…

The other day I popped in my Point of Grace cd and listened to a song called “Heal the Wound”. I had listened to it many times before but never really sat down and listened to the words. Well, I did the other day and I never realized how powerful the song really is. It’s beautiful. I wrote the lyrics below in hope of it possibly encouraging someone today.

~ Heal The Wound ~

Written by Clint Lagerberg, Nichole Nordeman

I used to wish that I could rewrite history

I used to dream that each mistake could be erased

Then I could just pretend I never knew me back then

I used to pray that You would take this shame away

Hide all the evidence of who I’ve been.

But it’s the memory of the place you brought me from

That keeps me on my knees

And even though I’m free…

Heal the wound, but leave the scar

A reminder of how merciful You are

I am broken, torn apart

Take the pieces of this heart

And heal the wound but leave the scar

I have not lived a life that boasts of anything

I don’t take pride in what I bring

But I’ll build an altar with the rubble that You’ve found me in

And every stone will sing of what You can redeem

Heal the wound but leave the scar

A reminder of how merciful You are

I am broken, torn apart

Take the pieces of this heart and heal the wound but leave the scar

Don’t let me forget everything You’ve done for me

Don’t let me forget the beauty in the suffering

Heal the wound but leave the scar

A reminder of how merciful You are

 I am broken, torn apart

take the pieces of this heart

And heal the wound but leave the scar

5 Responses

  1. Hi there. I turned on the radio tonight and heard this song playing. I had to google the lyrics as it was playing, and this led me to your site. Thanks for this update! Sometimes it just a small blog that months or even years later can help someone. Be blessed and thanks again. Will be following you on twitter.

  2. I’m so glad this post blessed you! Please stop by and read my blog anytime 🙂 God bless!

  3. This topic is quite hot in the net at the moment. What do you pay the most attention to when choosing what to write ?

  4. Hi there! I usually just write about what God had put in my heart at the time. I don’t ever search the internet to see what is popular because, to be quite honest, that’s not really my intention for this blog 🙂 God bless!

  5. thanks you for your website i love point of grace i just heard heal the wound but leave the scar i really like it but then all there music is a blessing

Leave a Reply

