A new/old commitment

 Warning! Very long post  😉 !

  Back in March 2007, I made the commitment to myself, God and my family that I would cut as much sugar as I could from my diet to help make my body healthier and to lose weight. I also stayed on track with counting my calories and watching out for fat. The only times that I allowed myself to have food and drinks that were the least bit high in those things were when I went to weddings, birthday parties, on holidays, as a guest in someones home, and when I went out with a friend on a specific, scheduled day.  It was very hard, but I kept that commitment from March-July and during that time I lost 10 pounds. Cutting sweets and things from my diet caused my body to feel much better. I was less tired and more alert, I could think straighter, I had more energy and because of that I was able to exercise more, I gained more confidence, and it was a good test of self-control. But then I graduated and August rolled around and I spent the month down here in KY to do a dental internship with a friend of ours. I ended up going out to eat a lot and got off track with not eating sweets, and because of that I gained back four pounds. Fast forwarding to now, the total amount of weight that I have gained back has been between 5-7 pounds 😦 .  Now, I don’t wish to be like a model or anything. I love the way God has made my body, I just don’t like what I have done to it because of the lousy choices I have made. I want to be healthy and strong for the family that I am in now and for my future family.  I feel bad that I did not keep my promise and I just don’t like the fact that I have excess weight on my body that does not have to be there! Before I had lost the 10, almost 11, pounds last year, I was at the weight of 132 lbs. . For my height of only 5′ 1″ and my age, I was considered over weight. Having that knowledge gave me the determination to shed those extra pounds. Throughout the process I had help and encouragement from my family and a few good friends especially Liz Follman and Carole Mitchell. I promised myself that I would try my best to never see myself at that weight again if I could help it (excluding the fact that I know I will be over that when I have a child some day ) . As I see myself now getting closer and closer to that weight again for no good reason, the determination is coming back, so this morning I recommitted my self to my previous commitment and I am going to stick with it this time, because I believe that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me! 🙂 Yay!

 My reason for writing about something that is pretty personal, is to stretch myself more by talking about something that can tend to be hard for me. And just as important to me, is to have accountability. I think that it will help me to stay on track if I know that I have made my commitment known to everyone including people that I don’t even know. My desire is to make my commitment a change of life, not just a temporary season until I lose the weight I want to. But until I do lose the weight, I will be posting my progress letting you know how I’m coming along. I know that there will be times when I feel like I have failed, but I will try my best to not dwell on those days and keep going. 

Any encouraging comments are very welcomed, appreciated, and needed 🙂 . 

 

Current Weight: 127 lbs. (Yeesh! Did I actually type that out for all the world to see?! 😉 )

Goal weight: 118-120 lbs.

Lbs. I need to lose to get to that weight: 7-9

Pounds lost since June 10, 2008: 0

 

6 Responses

  1. Hi Megan!

    I greatly admire your determination to become healthier and stay that way! It is so hard to eat nutritiously, especially when there are so many temptations out there. 🙂 I will certainly be praying for you at this time! It is true that you can do all things through Christ, and I know that your efforts will be blessed as you do all for His glory. 🙂 You are a very beautiful young lady…both on the outside and inside. 😉 I hope you’re having a wonderful week!

    P.S.- I’ll be sure to let you know how those cookies turn out!

  2. Go Megan!! I’ll be praying for you. I understand the struggle with weight. Although I can’t join you in everything (because I’m pregnant with my second child :), I will be cutting back on sugar and empty carbs, sodas and general junk food to keep me and baby healthy. I’m really trying not to gain as much weight as I did with my first so that it will be easier to lose this time around. God bless.

    Clarice

  3. Good for you Megan…you are very brave:) I’ll be praying for you. Maybe we could encourage eachother as I still have some weight to lose from being pregnant with Carson. It hasn’t come off as effortlessly this time:)

  4. Thank you so much for your comments ladies! I really appreciated it.

    Clarice – Congratulaions! My mom is pregnant too. Only this will be her fourth 🙂 .

  5. Megan – I am so proud of you. I speak from experience that losing weight and eating healthy is such a hard thing to do. You are an encouragement to me. I will pray for you and ask that you please pray for me. Seems like I have tried time and time again with some success and then go back to the old eating habits. I found an awesome scripture last week that I want to memorize and apply towards losing weight. It is “Though they stumble they will never fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand”. Psalm 37:24. Love you!

  6. Megan,
    I am very proud of you and I will do my best to encourage you in your goals!
    Love, MOM

Leave a Reply

