Jesus Freak?

(chorus)
What will people think
When they hear that Im a jesus freak
What will people do when they find that its true
I dont really care if they label me a jesus freak
There aint no disguising the truth…

The chorus above is from a song called ‘Jesus Freak’ sang by DcTalk. For most of my childhood I sang along with this song not really paying much attention to or understanding what the words meant. I just liked the rocky music and thought that I was pretty cool for listening to the same band that all my other christian friends were listening to.  Today I am so thankful that the Lord has changed my life and I can now truly understand what those words mean…or do I? My whole life so far has been completely filled with stories of men, women, and children being persecuted for their faith in Jesus. So many of them have layed down their lives for the sake of the gospel.  All around the world our brothers and sisters in Christ are being beaten and killed because they are standing up boldly for their Savior.  My father, Tom, has personally met many of these Normal Christians all around the world. On every trip he takes he comes back home with more stories like these…

 

Dimere Guarang: At 7yrs. old Dimere was kidnapped from his Sudanese village and sold as a slave to a Muslim master. He was then put in charge of the man’s camels. Dimere had never seen a camel before, let alone had taken care of them. One day a camel ran away. The master said nothing to Dimere of his mistake. Soon later, Dimere heard that a group of Christians were going to be holding a secret church service nearby. He snuck out of his master’s compound and went to church like all “good” Christians do. When he came home his master asked him where he had been. Dimere told him. His master said, “You have made two fatal mistakes. First you lost a camel, now you go to worship with infidels!” And the grown man took the 7yr. old little boy, and with large spikes, nailed both of his knees together and nailed both of his feet to a board. Dimere, who was rescued, lived through the experience and now has a very hard time walking. He can’t play soccer with his friends or jump up and down… and also has no bitterness in his heart towards the man who had done those things to him and still serving Christ faithfully. 

 

And…

 

Ms. Bibi – Attack on sewing center: On Sunday, May 29, 2005 four men armed with a gun and wooden sticks forcefully entered a sewing center that is in Pakistan. In 2003 the sewing center had been established to share Christ’s love with hurting women and to train them in the skill of sewing and embroidering. Each day the students would start with prayer and Bible study with their head teacher, Ms. Bibi.

 On this particular Sunday morning, fourteen students and family members were huddled in a classroom listening to Ms. Bibi share a Bible lesson. Without any warning, they heard shots fired outside their classroom. Not knowning what was going on, the girls ran outside to see what was happening. When they saw that is was four angry men they ran back into the sewing center to hide. The men pursued them and began to beat them with their wooden sticks. On man grabbed a pair of scissors and stabbed Ms. Bibi in the arm and also cut her shoulder. In great fear, the girls ran out of the center and hid themselves throughout the village.  The men set fire to the center. All the girl’s work was destroyed. Scripture verses that hung on the wall were hatefully burned, sewing machines were broken and chairs and tables were burned to ashes. When the attackers finished their crime, they went back to the village. Sister Bibi and the others gathered and fled to a safe place. Ms. Bibi was taken to the hospital where she received several stiches in her right arm.  Did Ms. Bibi give up on the Lord because he allowed those men to come do those terrible things? No, she did not. In fact she is still reaching out to other women with the Gospel even though she knows that she may be killed for it someday.

 

So do I really understand what it means to be a true disciple of Jesus Christ? I know in my head, but do I really understand in my heart what the cost may be? Jesus said in John 15: 20, “If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also”. Should I care if people call me a Jesus Freak? Would I be able to stay faithful to my Lord Jesus Christ if I was ever told to deny him or else be tortured or killed? Am I willing to give my life for the sake of the gospel like Dimere and Ms. Bibi? Oh, I pray so!  Though it may never come to that, I believe that I must be willing and ready for anything that may tempt me to deny my Savior.  For…”Jesus is worthy of every breath that I take, every beat of my heart, and every drop of my blood.” 

…People say Im strange, does it make me a stranger
That my best friend was born in a manger
People say Im strange, does it make me a stranger
That my best friend was born in a manger

4 Responses

  1. Great post Megan!

  2. Megan, I tagged you. Check out my blog for details!

    Blessings!

  3. …I think I tagged you too! 🙂

  4. Thanks girls!

    Ella & Kaysie, I do plan on doing a post about the thing you tagged me on but i’m just not sure when. 🙂 Blessings!

Leave a Reply

