Eating Healthier

healthy-dietToday I have officially started to eat healthier. Yes, I have been doing okay not eating so much sugar, but I’m still having some difficulties. I feel so tired all the time and I know it’s from the carbs that are still in my diet. So, why I didn’t do this before I don’t know, but, now I have traded in my granola bars for almonds(example), my white tortillas for whole wheat tortillas, my frozen dinners for veggie burgers, brown rice, vegetables, and fruit, my cold cereal for hot whole grain cereal and fruit…the list goes on, oh yeah, and my whole wheat bread(which still has things in it that I can’t pronounce) to Ezekiel bread(whole grain). Some big changes? Maybe, but I think they will help me overall to be healthier and maybe(hopefully) lose some weight. I’m still going to be having foods that I usually eat, but just not as much as before. I still eat yogurt, but I’ve gone from “needing” one everyday to every-other day and I actually probably will still have cold cereal more often then I probably would want because there are many morning when all I have time for is a cup of cereal. I’m pretty excited about these changes and I hope they last and are not a fad in this season of my life.

4 Responses

  1. how are you doing with your new eating? I have been having Morning Star Spicy Black Bean Burgers for lunch and they are SO good. They are in the walmart frozen foods section. There are still a little preservatives in them though. Have you tried tofu yet?

  2. Tofu? Haha, no. I don’t think I’ll ever let myself go that far 🙂 . Those burgers sound good. I like the Boca veggie burgers. They’re in Wal-Mart too.

  3. A healthy alternative to cold cereal would be home-made granola. I make my own all the time, that way I know what goes in it and I can pronounce everything too.

    Maple Cashew Granola

    6 c. rolled oats
    2 c. slivered almonds
    2 c. cashew bits (can use chopped pecans)
    2 c. oat bran
    2 c. sunflower seeds
    ¾ c. br. sugar
    ½ c. oil
    ¾ c. maple syrup
    1½ tsp. salt
    1 tbsp. maple flavoring (or vanilla)

    Pre-heat oven to 250º. In a large bowl, combine the oats, almonds, cashews and brown sugar. Pour in the syrup, oil, salt and flavoring. Mix and pour onto two baking sheets. Bake for 1 hr. and 15 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. Let cool completely and store in an air tight container

  4. Hey Dean, thanks for the recipe! I’ll have to try that sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

